Do Work Son!

Before I sit down to write about something, it bounces around in my head for awhile, sometimes a month or more. It starts off as an idea or concept that I dwell on and try to connect with my life to see if it has enough weight to actually turn into something more. I may write a few key words or phrases down to hold my thoughts in place until I have time to come back to them. I probably have about ten posts started in my drafts, some that I’ll finish later, others that will forever be left incomplete.

This is my process and I wish it didn’t take so long, but it does. Part of me wants to be more dedicated to writing. However, I don’t want to write just to write. I want my writing to be driven by ideas, by the things I have to say, not an obligation to post more often just to say I do.

In saying that, I do admit, I need to write more consistently. It is something I should make time for. Not everything I write will end up on my site, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t value in the process. I think this is true of most things in life. It’s the work that you put into it that is important. The end result doesn’t matter as much as you might think.

This started as an intro to one of those aforementioned ideas that has been floating around my brain, but it seems to have turned into it’s own thing. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I want to start working on my writing. I want it to be more than just a hobby or something I only do when I have extra time. I need to make writing a priority if I want it to progress into something more than just random thoughts and observations scribbled onto my iPhone screen (that’ what I’m writing this on, by the way).

So, this is me telling you that I’m ready to get down to work. Real progress comes when you take the time to work the process, just thinking about it or talking about it is not enough.

To make this not all about me, I’ll leave you with something to think about.

What is it that you need to start working on? What area of your life has become stagnant or has been put on hold and you would like to see progress into something bigger? It’s all about the process, but there must be a starting point or perhaps a restarting point. Think about it.

Now let’s get to work!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

