Stolen Goods

Over the past month, we’ve had a few things stolen from the office at work, including a few laptops, an Ipad, and my cell phone/wallet. Other than being super annoying and inconvenient (especially not having a phone), this made me think just how selfish a person has to be to steal from someone else. Do these people who stole my stuff realize the kind of impact they are having on the people they steal from? I have a lot of important things on my computer and in my cell phone, things I use for work, or to contact my family and friends. It is a big deal when you no longer have your phone, not to mention your debit card and driver’s license. And this has happened on more than one occasion.

I mean, what kind of a person would be so cruel to do such a thing? That was my first thought. Then I remembered something I once read in a book called the Kite Runner. It’s a fairly popular book, so maybe you read it too.

In an early part of the book a father is talking to his son about sin. The Father, who is called Baba says: 

“..there is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. Do you understand that?”

He goes on to say:

“When you kill a man, you steal a life,” Baba said. “You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness. Do you see?” […]

This made me think about all the things I’ve stolen from people over the years. Of course, I’ve never stolen material things like a computer or an xbox, or even someone’s wallet, but I’m sure I’ve stolen plenty of people’s right to happiness by being unkind or making an inappropriate joke or comment. Maybe I’ve lied to someone about something, or kept something from someone that I shouldn’t have. These are things to think about when comparing yourself to those “criminals” who steal cell phones and computers.

I’m not saying that lying to someone is a bad as robbing a bank (especially in the eyes of the law), but what I’m saying is we all do things that are selfish and unkind. I don’t want to go around condemning the kids who broke into our office, labeling them as “bad kids”, or as hardened criminals. They are just making some poor choices and I’m sure eventually it will catch up with them.

So again, I ask myself, “What is it that I am stealing and when will it catch up with me?” I hope I can figure it out before it does.

That’s all. Carry on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

