Taking the Scenic Route

A few weeks ago I tweeted about how I often take the scenic route when I’m driving places wondering how much gas I’ve wasted in my lifetime by doing so.

The thing about the scenic route is it isn’t the way that makes the most sense, nor is it very time efficient, but for me, it’s the most enjoyable. Of course, when you take the scenic route there is always the risk of getting lost, or ending up somewhere that you didn’t plan on going, or even breaking down in the middle of nowhere without cell phone service.

This got me thinking about my life in general and how I feel I’ve kind of taken the scenic route to get to where I am today. I’ve always tried to do things differently than the norm, and I certainly have my own way of making decisions when it comes to my career, or relationships, but I honestly wouldn’t want it any other way.

I will admit, the scenic route can be a tough way to go. You encounter potholes, detours, and roadblocks that you have to figure out how to get around. Sometimes you feel like you’re wasting your time or wandering around without a purpose. But those kinds of thoughts come and go and deep down you know that this is the route you have to take to get to where you want to be.

Don’t get me wrong, the scenic route isn’t the easy way, and it doesn’t mean you are being lazy, but it definitely has it’s own pace. A lot of people might wonder why you would choose it over a more direct way, and it’s okay if they don’t understand. I’m not saying it’s better than other ways you can take, I’m just saying this is the way I’ve chosen.

To be clear, taking the scenic route doesn’t mean you are avoiding having to be somewhere, or that you don’t have places to go. It’s just a different way of getting there. Also, it doesn’t mean you are wandering through life aimlessly. It is still grounded in direction and purpose. It just isn’t afraid to take a wrong turn or two along the way.

I know what you’re thinking, why wouldn’t you want to avoid taking a wrong turn? And yeah, I get it, getting lost can be a scary thing or it could keep you from getting to your destination “on time”. But that doesn’t scare me as much as always playing it safe, never venturing off the expressway, counting down the miles until you reach your destination only to get there and not remember how it happened. I know it sounds cliché, but to me it’s more about the journey than the destination.

So, what does this all mean? Why does it matter? Maybe it doesn’t. These are just my thoughts. Take it for what it’s worth. But next time you have the choice between taking the conventional route, or venturing off the beaten path to perhaps experience something new, I hope you at least consider both options. You never know what you could see along the way.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

