I may have wrote it, but that doesn’t mean I own it.

I once told a friend of mine that I don’t feel like the things I write belong to me. While they may be my thoughts, my words, my sentences, their origin is not necessarily rooted in my brain. My role is simply to process the things I’ve encountered and make some sort of sense of it. What I mean by this is that I take information that I’ve learned, experiences that I’ve had, or interactions with other people; and organize it in a way that is meaningful to me. Sometimes I’m compelled to share these things with others.

This process sounds a lot like writing a research paper (without all the citations) and I guess that makes sense. I spent so much of my life writing papers for school (whether it was high school, college, or grad school), that how my brain works has been greatly impacted. This has influenced how I see the world, which I think was kind of the point of writing all those papers.

Back to my original statement about not owning the things I write. This has another level to it. When I write something, I don’t expect the person who reads it to completely understand where I’m coming from, but that’s okay. There may only be one thing that the reader takes from my writing that is meaningful to them. It may not even be the message I was intending, and there’s nothing wrong with that. If something rings true to you, don’t be afraid to use it!

Have you ever had a conversation with someone that sparked an idea in your brain that had nothing to do with the conversation itself? This happens to me all the time. Inspiration is all around us, you just have to keep your eyes open to it. With that said, the same is true for inspiring others. You don’t have to be a leader, or a teacher, or a writer to inspire someone.

I’ll leave you with a quote that someone showed me that I really like. It says, “There are people in your life whom you unknowingly INSPIRE simply by being you!”

Be inspired. Be inspiring. Be you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

