Lights! Jon’s Camera! No action.

Tuesday night I experienced something that I don’t experience very often. I ventured off campus and went to a show in Cleveland at a cool little place called the Grog Shop. I love music, but for some reason I haven’t been to a lot of concerts. Maybe it’s because I feel a little uncomfortable at a concert. Usually, I don’t fit in with the types of people who typically go to shows. I guess I could try to fit in, but I don’t want to change who I am just to feel more comfortable around people. For example, Jon was joking with me that I can’t wear my running shoes to the show. I guess they’re not “scene” enough. The thing is, I’m not scene, whatever that means. Why would I dress like someone I’m not?

Anyway, the show was great. The opening acts got progressively better as the night went on. I think Ian (een) found a new favorite band in Everything Zen, a high school aged quartet seemingly obsessed with popular rock music from the 90’s. Just think of a high school talent show band who sounds like a mix between 311, Limp Biscuit, with maybe some Incubus thrown in the mix. I’m worried though, because who knows what the singer’s voice will sound like after he reaches puberty. All joking aside, they weren’t so bad and Sparrows and Arrows are actually really good.

This was all leading up to the reason we were in attendance. Lights was the headliner of the night, and she didn’t disappoint. Who is Lights you ask? Lights is a young Canadian singer whose songs were featured in a few Old Navy commercials last year. Ethan introduced her to us after his curiosity for new music led him to her. Thank you Ethan.

Lights was awesome, as she sang all the old favorites we have grown to love in the past couple of months, as well as some new songs. She encored with a cover of Phil Collins’ hit “In the Air Tonight” which happens to be a favorite song of mine. Interestingly enough, when the end of the night came, I no longer felt out of place. Maybe it was because four of my friends were with me. Maybe it was because I realized that no one was paying attention to me anyway. Or it probably was because of how Lights brings people together. For example, at one point during the show I was standing beside a typical guy that you would see at this type of show. He had a mohawk, small t-shirt and girl pants on.  However, on my other side was a black dude with baggy jeans and a Fubu basketball jersey. Both were there to see Lights. Both were enjoying themselves, and both were singing along with every word.

After the show, we stuck around to get a picture with Lights. It wasn’t a big concert, so it didn’t take very long to get through the line. The plan was to each get a picture with her and then maybe a group photo. Sadly, Paul ruined the plan. He became over anxious and immediately asked for a group photo. It’s okay though, cause I still got to be beside Lights in the photo. We all talked for awhile and Lights was pretty cool. She thought we looked like we were in a band. And then Ethan lied to her (he’s just a boy). Unfortunately we were interrupted by a drunk dude from the bar. Just like that, our time with Lights ended and we headed home. The end… or is it?lights-group1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lights! Jon’s Camera! No action.

  1. ethan says:

    im just a boy lol. .. and there will be more lights in our life !

Leave a Reply

