Ubiquitous. Unique. Unacquaintances.

It is estimated that the world’s population is about 6.76 billion people. I don’t think it is possible to truly grasp how many people this is. It’s kind of mind boggling when you think about it. What is even more amazing is how each of these 6.76 billion people has their own story. Each person is an individual who shares many of the same characteristics as myself. They eat, sleep, laugh, cry, have families and friends, just as I do. The truth is, we have more in common than most of us realize. But then again, we are all different.

No two people are exactly alike. I don’t know about you, but that, in a way, is exciting to me. Just think of all of the amazing people you know. Maybe you don’t know a lot of people. Maybe you feel as though you have a ton of friends. I don’t know. But think about it. Let’s say you’ve met 6,700 people in your lifetime, this is definitely a much larger number than the number of people you actually know. 6,700 is less than one percent of one percent of the world’s population, much less.

There are so many people out there. So many unique individuals who I will never meet. People with ideas, or passions, or talents that I would love to experience. But sadly I never will. There are so many people that I will never come into contact with. Never get to share a coffee with, or chat about God,  or even just exchange glances with on a busy street corner.

Then again, what about those people who I do meet? Or the amazing people I already know? What about my future co-workers or clients? Or the people at my church? How well do I really know the other students in my classes? Are they not unique as well? Are they not fascinating  individuals made in the image of God? Of course they are.

People are all around us. Most everyday I encounter someone whom I hardly know. I urge you, while I urge myself, to embrace these people. Take time to notice the beauty in the individuality that surrounds us. We are all unique human beings with a story to share. Who doesn’t like to hear a good story?

Music suggestion: Currently I’ve been listening to Jason Mraz’s new album, “We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.” There is no doubt that this is one of the best albums of 2008. Jason Mraz took a year off from music previous to recording this album to “find himself”. It definately shows through his music. My favorite song is called “Live High”. You should check it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ubiquitous. Unique. Unacquaintances.

  1. i read your blog 🙂

    that’s a real real dang good thought. any idea how this looks practically though? i’m not challenging you, but more or less seeking some sort of guideline to follow.

    I walk alongside others – swing in their rooms and talk with them – and meet new people whenever I can … but like anyone else I get sucked into this CRAPPY american lifestyle where it pressures you to be pressured. where if you aren’t busy you’re doing busy-work.

    i would love to get engrained in my head this idea of not taking for granted all of the unique people.

    i know Someone who lived and lives like that … very interesting thoughts.

Leave a Reply

