Why I don’t play card games…

Just for the record, I’m not a card person. Never have been. Probably never will be. I don’t play Euchre, Poker, or Solitaire. I don’t even play Go Fish. I have nothing personal against those who do play cards. I just know that they are kidding themselves. I refuse to trick myself into thinking that I am doing something fun when in reality, I am just playing with little pieces of paper.

Here are some of the reason why I don’t play card games:

  1. Cards are boring.
  2. Cards are just an excuse to sit in a circle and talk. Why not just sit and talk without having to worry about playing a game?
  3. A card is just a piece of paper with a number and/or picture on it. You might as well play with a cardboard box.
  4. People always try to cheat. This just causes unneeded tension.
  5. Some card games lead to gambling. I don’t want to lose all my money.
  6. Not everyone knows how to play every card game. Time is wasted when you have to teach the game.
  7. Not everyone agrees on the rules. (More tension)
  8. Someone has to lose. This can cause hard feelings.
  9. Not everyone likes to play cards, but may feel obligated to. Please don’t put me in that situation.
  10. Conversations are interrupted from people shouting “gin!” or “Euchre” or some other strange word that I don’t know the meaning of.

The list goes on, but you get the idea.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I don’t play card games…

  1. Haviland Girls says:

    Jeb-
    In response to your blog…
    1.Playing cards provides an avenue for people to not feel awkward in a potentially awkward environment. Thus, people are more open to discuss things when not faced with the pressure of needing to come up with a good discussion. Cards may act as a sort of middle barrier to protect them from an awkward silence or simply making a fool of themselves.
    2. Who doesn’t enjoy a little competition? Anwswer: Only those who are afraid to lose. If your feelings are hurt by losing a simple card game, you obviously have deeper issues to deal with.
    3.You have nothing better to do with your time – blogger.
    4. In regard to gambling… have some self control. You don’t have to wager ALL of your money.
    5. Who doesn’t enjoy a spontaeous yahtzee!! UNO!! or MR. STOPPER!! ??
    6. Teaching someone a new skill is not time wasted. (Or..you could just not let them play.)
    7.Not liking card games is just a lame excuse for those who either are bad or don’t know how to play.
    We could go on, but you get the idea…

    P.S. We do enjoy the blog. 🙂

  2. Long Legs McGee of the blogger.com blog says:

    Are you dissing playing in cardboard boxes in #3? I happen to enjoy that.

  3. jebualaaron says:

    I am not dissing playing in cardboard boxes, quite the contrary. I am saying that playing in a cardboard box is more fun than playing cards, therefore why not play in a cardboard box instead.

Leave a Reply

