That’s not really what I had in mind…

What does it mean to be seeking God’s will? Also, if I am truly seeking His will, how will I know it’s His will? I find so often that my prayers or my thoughts usually contain the things that I want in my life, or are focused on what I think is best for me. I am seeking my will, not God’s.

My initial reflection of this tells me that I am being selfish, that seeking my will is not the right way to go about it. I’m not sure if that is a correct assessment. Just think about it. If one is truly seeking God’s will, this means that you must first be lacking the knowledge of God’s will. In other words, there is a difference between seeking God’s will and just knowing God’s will. Imagine if a person’s way of making choices in their life only involved God’s will and not their own will. That would be difficult.

It’s not like God’s going to send you a text message, letting you know His will for your life and until then you should just sit around like a mindless, desire less puppet, waiting for the puppet master to pull the strings. People have ideas. We have needs and desires. We are able to think, and form opinions and plans for how we want our life to play out.

How do these thoughts relate to the will of God though? Well, there has to be a starting point. I think this starting point is where your own will comes in. It is impossible to seek God’s will if you don’t already have a will of your own, something to compare it to. The goal is not just to know His will, but to line up your will with His will.

The process of seeking is where we grow closer to God. It’s in that relationship that we learn about God’s plan for our lives, how He loves us and is ultimately trying to communicate that he knows what it best for us. He knows what our needs are. And it’s tough. We might not always be able to see what it is we truly need. We have our own needs, needs that we think God should provide.

This is the cool part though. If we are earnestly seeking, and praying, and listening to what God is teaching us through scripture, or the interactions we have with others, or even the mistakes we make, eventually our needs will be met.

This may not always look like how you originally pictured it. I can tell you from experience that the majority of my prayers are in no way answered directly. God does not usually meet my original need. The way God works is that he transforms my want, my desire, my will to match what he has planned for me. My will and God’s will become one.

So when someone tells you that you need to be continually seeking God’s will, don’t try to figure out what God’s will actually is. Start with your will and listen to what God is telling you about it. In the seeking, your will will become one with God’s will. To me, this is what it means to have a relationship with God.

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes, and I’m not sure where I read it, but I think it’s a good way to close.

“Stop asking God to bless what you’re doing. Get involved in what God is doing—because it’s already blessed.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

That’s not really what I had in mind…

What does it mean to be seeking God’s will? Also, if I am truly seeking His will, how will I know it’s His will? I find so often that my prayers or my thoughts usually contain the things that I want in my life, or are focused on what I think is best for me. I am seeking my will, not God’s.

My initial reflection of this tells me that I am being selfish, that seeking my will is not the right way to go about it. I’m not sure if that is a correct assessment. Just think about it. If one is truly seeking God’s will, this means that you must first be lacking the knowledge of God’s will. In other words, there is a difference between seeking God’s will and just knowing God’s will. Imagine if a person’s way of making choices in their life only involved God’s will and not their own will. That would be difficult.

It’s not like God’s going to send you a text message, letting you know His will for your life and until then you should just sit around like a mindless, desire less puppet, waiting for the puppet master to pull the strings. People have ideas. We have needs and desires. We are able to think, and form opinions and plans for how we want our life to play out.

How do these thoughts relate to the will of God though? Well, there has to be a starting point. I think this starting point is where your own will comes in. It is impossible to seek God’s will if you don’t already have a will of your own, something to compare it to. The goal is not just to know His will, but to line up your will with His will.

The process of seeking is where we grow closer to God. It’s in that relationship that we learn about God’s plan for our lives, how He loves us and is ultimately trying to communicate that he knows what it best for us. He knows what our needs are. And it’s tough. We might not always be able to see what it is we truly need. We have our own needs, needs that we think God should provide.

This is the cool part though. If we are earnestly seeking, and praying, and listening to what God is teaching us through scripture, or the interactions we have with others, or even the mistakes we make, eventually our needs will be met.

This may not always look like how you originally pictured it. I can tell you from experience that the majority of my prayers are in no way answered directly. God does not usually meet my original need. The way God works is that he transforms my want, my desire, my will to match what he has planned for me. My will and God’s will become one.

So when someone tells you that you need to be continually seeking God’s will, don’t try to figure out what God’s will actually is. Start with your will and listen to what God is telling you about it. In the seeking, your will will become one with God’s will. To me, this is what it means to have a relationship with God.

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes, and I’m not sure where I read it, but I think it’s a good way to close.

“Stop asking God to bless what you’re doing. Get involved in what God is doing—because it’s already blessed.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

